Skip to content

HBBC Week 1 Recap

November 26, 2011

This holiday season I needed a little something extra to motivate me into physical activity. So I stumbled upon an event on this site: Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge. Those of you who don’t enjoy reading about others working out can skip these posts.

The idea is it’s a point based system where you get points for various physical activity events. Perfect for the engineer that I am who likes putting numbers into spreadsheets (or does this say something about my future career in project management?) Ironically I’ve taken this weekend off jogging for a suspected plantar fasciitis that I think would benefit from missing a few runs. And of course it being a holiday weekend doesn’t help the laziness. But hey, that’s what this post is for, to shame me about my minuscule number of points each week! So…

  • Sunday- 6.2 mile run (6 points)
  • Monday- 3 mile run (3 points)
  • Tuesday- 20 minutes weight lifting (1 point)
  • Wednesday- 4 mile run (4 points)

Total points: 14

Pretty shabby for week 1, but hey, there will be room for improvement.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sweetopiagirl permalink
    November 26, 2011 10:59 pm

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  2. November 29, 2011 6:30 pm

    Congrats! I decided I’m going to do something crazy and run a half marathon in May. I started the Couch to 5k program (the one you can download onto an iPhone) and am about halfway through. After that is the bridge to 10k, and then I’ll start a 12 week program training for the half. I imagine I’ll be walking a chunk of it, but that’s okay. I’ve been saying for years that I wanted to do it, so now’s as good a time as any.

    Anyway, I see nothing wrong with points…but do you get something after a certain number of points? Or is it just to keep improving on your previous week. Don’t forget to cut back every few weeks to give yourself a break!

  3. November 30, 2011 1:33 pm

    just think week one gave you a place to challenge yourself for week 2 🙂 hope it is going well

  4. frautech permalink*
    November 30, 2011 8:47 pm

    Yeah you can win prizes for placing each week for points (though I don’t expect to) and there are prizes and giveaways to everyone participating. I started C25k back in May (though I was just using a hand timer I suspect it’s the same program) so I’m a big fan of it.
    Though I’m not quite ambitious enough to be thinking of a half quite yet, I’m happy to just keep plugging along. Good luck and now we have something else in common.

Trackbacks

  1. HBBC Week 2 Recap « Design. Build. Play.

Leave a Reply

