Skip to content

High quality manufacturing

September 12, 2011

I just got a new Garmin Forerunner 305 a couple weeks ago. For those not familiar, it’s a GPS sports watch. Tracks your distance, time, pace, calories, plenty of other interesting things (of course we know my love of data capturing). Unfortunately despite it being brand new it’s had issues from the start. On about my second run out it just shut off on its own somewhere in the middle of the run. And occasionally when I try to actually "start" the timer it would just shut off as well. After poking around on the internet I discovered it’s not known for being particularly well made and sometimes the contacts won’t be facing in the right way or making enough of a connection. This results in fun things like being able to push the face while it’s on and it’ll just shut off on its own.

There’s a lot of advice online for how to take these apart and fix them on your own, but I wasn’t about to void my warranty. Hopefully the "new" one will not have these same issues. So far Garmin’s been pretty easy to work with (and I bought it from Amazon not through Garmin). But if I get another one with the same problems I’m going to be severely disappointed. One really has to wonder at their manufacturing quality process that allows a two week old product to have these kinds of issues. (Photo of innards from this guide on self repair for battery replacement).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

