Skip to content

What do you do for a living?

July 7, 2011

I was curious what the most common occupations were in the states and as I started to dig through BLS data I discovered they produced the table already. I'm not surprised to see retail at number 1 and food prep and food service at number 4 and waiters at number 6. I guess I'm surprised elementary school teachers even made the list (this is from 2010, I wonder if it will drop for the current year) and very surprised any management type occupation made the list at all: operations managers at number 12. Given the disparity in mean annual salary between that and everything else it seems like not a bad job to get into.
 
What do you think, does this look like what you thought it would?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 10:07 pm

    I am a little surprised (but not negatively) that RNs have such a high mean salary. I mean 64k/year? It might be with extra money working nights?apart from number 12 though, it seems to be fairly low average mean salaries… guess that'll make me more happy about my salary? (Although, I think I would need a fairly big pay raise to make up for the student loans etc… *complaining just a bit from my tower*

  2. July 15, 2011 3:58 am

    I wonder where they get those figures for elementary teachers. Maybe in New York or other coastal cities, they earn something like that. Around here it's more like $25,000/year.

Leave a Reply

